Back to All Events

New York Tapestries CD Release concert

  • The Tank 312 West 36th Street, 1st Floor New York, NY, 10018 United States (map)
FINAL-CD Release Concert-01[2] - Laura Falzon.png

TICKETS
$15 includes concert & reception

New York Tapestries presents works by New York women composers specifically written or transcribed for 2Flutes duo (Laura Falzon & Pamela Sklar). The CD weaves together works by composers Marilyn Bliss, Rain Worthington, Pamela Sklar, Alyssa Reit and Victoria Bond to form a tapestry of the city, creating a diversity of musical narratives and conversations.

Featuring

2Flutes Duo
Laura Falzon, Flute/ Alto flute | Pamela Sklar, Flute / Bass Flute/ Native American Flute

Composers & works featured
Marilyn Bliss IT WAS THE WIND
Rain Worthington DUETS FOR A DUO
Alyssa Reit WHEN THE CLOUDS CLEAR
Pamela Sklar FLASHES OF INSPIRATION AND JOY
Victoria Bond WOVEN

The CD recording
Sponsored in part by a Seed Money Grant from New York Women Composers
Engineered, mixed & mastered by Joseph Anthony Shireman
Produced by: 2Flutes
Cover Art and Graphic Design:Claudia Baldacchino

Artists
2Flutes
brings together flutists Laura Falzon and Pamela Sklar, who between them have performed a staggeringly eclectic repertoire ranging from classical & contemporary works to rock, pop, folk, world, improvisational and jazz, with performances throughout the USA, Canada, Europe, Morocco, India and Japan. Both acclaimed soloists in their own right, Falzon has been described as “fearless in tackling and promoting” challenging new works by the British Flute Society’s PAN magazine, while Sklar has been called "A master of control and dynamics” by the Boston Globe. www.2flutes.net

Hailed for her "versatile technique" (Musical Times), Laura Falzon’s performances have been described as “excellent,” “remarkably brilliant,” “powerful”, “impressive”, “ethereal” and “exuberant”. With solo, concerto and chamber performances in Europe, Asia and the US, she has performed in prestigious venues such as Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center and Kennedy Center in DC. “Fearless in tackling and promoting” new works (PAN, British Flute Society), Falzon has worked with numerous composers including Mohammed Fairouz, Dai Fujikura, Charles Camilleri, Victoria Bond, and Bushra El-Turk and had many works written for her. A graduate of Columbia University, Dr. Falzon teaches at Columbia University’s Teachers College and New York University. www.laurafalzon.com

Pamela Sklar collaborates with ensembles playing classical and non-classical music. Described by the New York Times as “engaging…piquant…stimulating…delightful”, her NY performances include Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center’s Halls, orchestras for the GRAMMY Awards (Aretha Franklin and Gil Shaham), and performances/ recordings/broadcasts with Dave Brubeck, Tony Bennett, Andrea Bocelli and Paul Simon. As director and member of L’Aréma Ensemble, she worked closely with Pulitzer Prize Winner Karel Husa and Alan Hovhaness. Ms Sklar has toured worldwide with Claude Bolling among others, and can be heard on broadcasts of her original recordings. www.pamelasklar.com

Websites:
2Flutes www.2flutes.net

Laura Falzon www.laurafalzon.com
Pamela Sklar www.pamelasklar.com

Rain Worthington www.rainworthington.com
Marilyn Bliss www.marilynbliss.com
Alyssa Reit www.alyssareit.com
Victoria Bond www.victoriabond.com

Later Event: September 26
Good Cooks!